24.-26.09.2021

Jury Competition

Maike Mia Höhne

FILM DIRECTOR, FILM CURATOR AND PROFESSOR OF FILM

 

Maike Mia Höhne is a German film director, film curator and professor of film at UE Europe. She is mother of two children and lives and works in Hamburg. From 1994 to 1999 she studied visual communication, with a focus on film at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg and in Havana, Cuba. Since 2001 she works as a freelance author, lecturer, curator, producer, photographer and director. For ARTE she produces the magazine KURZSCHLUSS with Lilli Thalgott. Her films are distributed by Arsenal -Institut für Film und Videokunst and Kurzfilmagentur Hamburg. From 2007 to 2019 she was curator and director of the Berlinale Shorts section at the Berlinale. In 2019, she took over as artistic director at the Short Film Festival Hamburg. She is a member of the Freie Akademie der Künste in Hamburg.

GLW Jury: Maike Mia Höhne, film director, film curator and professor of film, photo credits: Claudia Höhne
Photo Credits: Claudia Höhne

Kento Tomiyoshi & Makoto Shozu

FLIGHTGRAF

 

FLIGHTGRAF is an audio-visual label company based in Tokyo and in Hamburg. It consists of Kento Tomiyoshi, director and design-visual artist, and Makoto Shozu, sound designer. FLIGHTGRAF were already guests in Weimar in 2016 and performed at the Herderkirche. In the GLW competition 2020 they won with their artistic work "Rhythm and Line" for Altenburg.

 

 

 

Soheil Seraji & Nadira Madreimova

ANIMATION AND VIDEO ARTISTS

 

Soheil Seraji and Nadira Madreimova are a team of animation and video artists from Iran and Russia. Soheil Seraji is Ph.D student and lecturer at university of Tehran, faculty of finearts, film and animation major. Nadira Madreimova, is student at St. Petersburg State University, Faculty of Liberal Arts, Film & Video major. They already participated in several film and animation festivals. In the GLW competition 2020 they won with their artistic work "West-east conversation" for Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv.

 

 

Emanuele Musca

VIDEO ENGINEER AND EXPERIMENTAL MUSICIAN

 

Emanuele Musca is a video engineer and experimental musician with a special focus on sound design. He releases his musical projects under the name "Evestrum". Evestrum is part of the Berlin-based label "Modern Bön", which regularly organizes live events and festivals. In the GLW competition 2020 he won in a team with the artistic work "Inside" for the Marstall.

Thorsten Bauer

WWW.THORSTEN-BAUER.COM

 

Thorsten Bauer is a creative director, media artist, entrepreneur and curator who has been working in the field of spatial media art installations since 2001. As co-founder of Urbanscreen GmbH Co Kg, he is considered one of the pioneers of projection mapping and has been awarded a number of international prizes in this field. Thorsten Bauer works mainly as an artist and curator in the independent media art sector. In addition to his artistic work, Thorsten Bauer is concerned with strategies for a sustainable digital urban culture. In this context, he advises and designs media façade projects and conceptualizes digitally enhanced architectures.

 

 

Romain Tardy

MEDIA ARTIST

Romain Tardy is a visual artist, who has been active in the field of digital and media art since 2004. After studying art and design for 4 years in France, and with a background in motion design and VJing, he moved to Brussels, Belgium, where he currently lives and works. He creates installations, directs movies, does art direction, designs still and animated things. Romain Tardy is one of the co-founders of the European visual label ANTIVJ and was active as an artist in this group from 2008 until late 2013.

 

 

Philipp Geist

MEDIA ARTIST

The Berlin artist Philipp Geist works internationally as an artist with the mediums of video- / light installation, photography and painting. On 16 may 2013 Geist received the German lighting design award in the category of light art for the installation Time Drifts, he presented during the Luminale 2012. He has exhibited his art work and audio-visual performances internationally at various renowned festivals and art spaces. Geist´s projects are characterized by their complexity and the integration of the location, the sound and moving images. In his video mapping installations, he avoids using canvasses and turns diverse architectures in moving, painterly light sculptures, which challenge the onlookers’ perception of two- and threedimensionality.

 

Hendrik Wendler

GENIUS LOCI WEIMAR, MXWENDLER

Hendrik Wendler studied architecture at Bauhaus University Weimar and founded device+context, a software venture, developing the videomapping software Suite MXWendler. Since 2004 these media servers illuminate clubs, theaters and facades around the world. In 2012 he founded the artistic festival platform Genius Loci Weimar for the young art-form videomapping.

24.-26.09.2021

Jury Wettbewerb

Maike Mia Höhne

FILMREGISSEURIN, FILMKURATORIN UND PROFESSORIN FÜR FILM

 

Maike Mia Höhne ist eine deutsche Filmregisseurin, Filmkuratorin und Professorin für Film an der UE Europe. Sie ist Mutter von zwei Kindern und lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg. Von 1994 bis 1999 Studium Visuelle Kommunikation, mit dem Schwerpunkt Film an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg und in Havana, Cuba. Seit 2001 arbeitet sie als freie Autorin, Dozentin, Kuratorin, Produzentin, Fotografin und Regisseurin. Für ARTE produziert sie mit Lilli Thalgott das Magazin KURZSCHLUSS. Ihre Filme werden vom Arsenal -Institut für Film und Videokunst und der Kurzfilmagentur Hamburg vertrieben. Von 2007 bis 2019 war sie Kuratorin und Leiterin der Kurzfilmsektion Berlinale Shorts der Berlinale. 2019 übernahm sie die künstlerische Leitung beim Kurzfilm Festival Hamburg. Sie ist Mitglied der Freien Akademie der Künste in Hamburg.

GLW Jury: Maike Mia Höhne, Filmregisseurin, Filmkuratorin und Professorin für Film, Photo Credits: Claudia Höhne
Photo Credits: Claudia Höhne

Kento Tomiyoshi & Makoto Shozu

FLIGHTGRAF

 

FLIGHTGRAF ist ein audiovisuelles Label mit Sitz in Tokio und Hamburg. Es besteht aus Kento Tomiyoshi, dem Director und Künstler für visuelle Umsetzung und dem Sounddesigner Makoto Shozu. FLIGHTGRAF waren bereits 2016 als Künstler zu Gast in Weimar und bespielten die Herderkirche. Im GLW Wettbewerb 2020 gewannen sie mit ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit "Rhythm and Line" für die Altenburg.

Soheil Seraji & Nadira Madreimova

ANIMATIONS- UND VIDEOKÜNSTLER

 

Soheil Seraji und Nadira Madreimova sind ein Animations- und Videokünstler-Team aus dem Iran und Russland. Soheil Seraji ist Doktorand und Dozent an der Universität Teheran, Fakultät für Bildende Künste, im Hauptfach Film und Animation. Nadira Madreimova, ist Studentin an der Staatlichen Universität St. Petersburg, Fakultät für Freie Künste, im Hauptfach Film & Video. Soheil Seraji und Nadira Madreimova haben bereits an unterschiedlichen Film- und Animationsfestivals teilgenommen. Beim GLW-Wettbewerb 2020 gewannen sie mit ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit "West-east Conversation" für das Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv.

Emanuele Musca

VIDEOTECHNIKER UND EXPERIMENTALMUSIKER

 

Emanuele Musca ist Videotechniker und Experimentalmusiker mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Sounddesign. Seine musikalischen Projekte veröffentlicht er unter dem Namen "Evestrum". Evestrum ist Teil des Berliner Labels "Modern Bön", das regelmäßig Live-Veranstaltungen und Festivals organisiert. Im GLW Wettbewerb 2020 gewann er im Team mit der künstlerischen Arbeit "Inside" für den Marstall.

Thorsten Bauer

WWW.THORSTEN-BAUER.COM

 

Thorsten Bauer ist ein Creative Director, Medienkünstler, Unternehmer und Kurator, der seit 2001 im Bereich der räumlichen Medienkunstinstallationen arbeitet. Als Mitbegründer der Urbanscreen GmbH Co Kg gilt er als einer der Pioniere des Projection Mapping und ist mit einer Vielzahl internationaler Preise in diesem Bereich ausgezeichnet worden. Thorsten Bauer arbeitet schwerpunktmäßig als Künstler und Kurator im freischaffenden Medienkunstbereich. Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit beschäftigt sich Thorsten Bauer mit  Strategien für eine nachhaltige digitale  Stadtkultur. In diesem Zusammenhang berät und gestaltet er Medienfassadenprojekte und konzeptioniert digital erweiterte Architekturen.

Romain Tardy

MEDIENKÜNSTLER

 

Romain Tardy ist ein bildender Künstler mit Hintergrund in Motion-Design und Vjing, welcher in den Bereichen der digitalen Kunst und Medienkunst seit 2004 aktiv ist. Nachdem er während 4 Jahren Kunst und Design in Frankreich studiert hatte, zog er nach Brüssel, Belgien, wo er derzeit lebt und arbeitet. Er kreiert Installationen, Filme, führt Regie und gestaltet unbewegte und bewegte Dinge. Romain Tardy ist einer der Mitbegründer des europäischen Künstler-Labels ANTIVJ und war von 2008 bis 2013 als Künstler aktiv in der Gruppe.

Philipp Geist

MEDIENKÜNSTLER

 

Der Berliner Künstler Philipp Geist ist als international Künstler in den Bereichen Video- und Lichtinstallationen, Fotografie und Malerei tätig. 2013 erhielt Geist den Deutschen Lichtdesign Preis in der Kategorie Lichtkunst für seine Installation 'Time Drifts', welche er an der Luminale 2012 präsentierte. Seine Kunstwerke und audiovisuellen Performances wurden international bei verschiedenen namhaften Festivals und Kunsträumen ausgestellt. Die Projekte von Geist zeichnen sich durch ihre Komplexität, den Einbezug des Ortes, den Sound und den bewegten Bildern aus. In seinen Videomapping-Installationen vermeidet er den Einsatz von Leinwänden, er verwandelt stattdessen verschiedene Architekturen in bewegte, malerische Lichtskulpturen, welche die Wahrnehmung von Zwei- und Dreidimensionalität des Betrachters herausfordern.

Hendrik Wendler

GENIUS LOCI WEIMAR, MXWENDLER

 

Hendrik Wendler hat Architektur an der Bauhaus Universität in Weimar studiert und gründete device+context, ein Software-Unternehmen, welches das Videomapping Software-Paket MXWendler entwickelt. Seit 2004 illuminieren diese Medienserver Clubs, Theater und Fassaden auf der ganzen Welt. 2012 gründete er die künstlerische Festivalplattform Genius Loci Weimar für die junge Kunstrichtung Videomapping.