Public Vote 2021 is open!

GOETHE- AND SCHILLER-ARCHIVE

"West-East Conversation"

With their work "West-east conversation", the two Iranian and Russian animation and video artists Soheil Seraji and Nadira Madreimova try an effort to represent the east inspired thoughts and ideas of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The video should be a visual poem, which is based on the poems of "West-östlicher Diwan" and tries to form everything according to the poetic concepts and meanings.

Trailer Goethe- and Schiller-Archive "West-east conversation"

Artists

Soheil Seraji and Nadira Madreimova are a team of animation and video artists from Iran and Russia.

About the location

“I imagine Goethe climbing these stairs, or Schiller gazing upon the trees from these windows; they would have been filled with a most pleasant feeling of satisfaction had they envisioned these rooms with their writings as a reflection of the future.” These words are attributed to Grand Duchess Sophie von Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach at the ceremonial inauguration of the archive building in June 1896.

Even today, those ascending the steps can experience “a most pleasant feeling of satisfaction” when they reach the stone semi-circular terrace of the classicist archive building on its hill perch. Surrounded by the foothills of the Ilmpark, the building and terrace offer a sweeping panoramic view of the cultural city of Weimar and the silhouettes of some of its most important landmarks.

The bike path along the llm River offers the reverse line of sight. From there, you can look up to the Goethe- and Schiller Archive, which rise impressively above the city on the eastern bank of the Ilm.

Near the close of the 19th century, the Grand Duchess Sophie commissioned architect Otto Minckert for the construction of the archive. In turn, he turned his gaze westwards towards Versailles in his search for inspiration. Minckert’s architectural designs were eventually inspired by the Petit Trianon château. Unlike the palaces of Versailles, the building in Weimar was designed for the general public.

The Goethe- and Schiller Archive catalogues and conducts research into more than 150 estates of writers, scholars, philosophers, composers and fine artists, 14 archives of publishing houses, associations and societies, totalling five million sheets of archival documentation for visitors and users from all over the world.

The collections broadly represent German-language literature as well as music, the fine arts and science with a focus on the 18th and 19th centuries. The most valuable items in the archive are probably Goethe’s manuscripts and letters. In 2001, his estate was included in the UNESCO World Document Heritage.

In the 21st century, the Goethe and Schiller Archive is going digital in its cataloguing, reproduction, publication and research. For exhibitions and in the reading room, the oldest literature archive in Germany will continue to display the precious original manuscripts – Goethe and Schiller, Wieland and Herder, Liszt and Nietzsche, alongside numerous other artists who are ready to be discovered all over again.

Use of the photos of the location only with photo credits: © Christian Rothe, Genius Loci Weimar 2020

24.-26.09.2021

GOETHE- UND SCHILLER-ARCHIV

"West-East Conversation"

Mit ihrer Arbeit "West-east conversation" nehmen die Animations- und Videokünstler.innen Soheil Seraji und Nadira Madreimova aus Iran und Russland die Gedanken und Ideen Johann Wolfgang von Goethes "West-östlichen Diwans" auf. Das wundervoll anzusehende Animationsvideo stellt eine poetische, visuelle Umsetzung von Goethes letzter Gedichtsammlung dar.

Trailer Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv "West-east conversation"

Artists

Soheil Seraji und Nadira Madreimova sind ein Team bestehend aus zwei Animations- und Videokünstler.innen aus dem Iran und Russland.

Über den Spielort

„Ich denke mir Goethe diese Treppen emporsteigend, oder Schiller aus diesen Fenstern in die Bäume herabsehend; ein wie freundliches Gefühl der Befriedigung würde sie erfüllt haben, wenn ihre Phantasie diese Wohnräume ihrer Schriften als etwas Zukünftiges ihnen vorgespiegelt hätte.“ So wird Großherzogin Sophie von Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach bei der feierlichen Einweihung des Archivbaus im Juni 1896 zitiert.

Auch heute noch können Emporsteigende ein „freundliches Gefühl der Befriedigung“ erleben, wenn sie die steinerne, halbrunde Terrasse des auf einer Anhöhe thronenden klassizistischen Archivbaus erreicht haben. Umgeben von den Ausläufern des Ilmparks bietet sich ein weitläufiger Panoramablick über die Kulturstadt Weimar mit der Silhouette einiger ihrer wichtigsten Gebäude.

Die umgekehrte Blickachse zeigt sich von unten, vom Radwanderweg an der Ilm: Von dort lässt sich emporblicken zum Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv, das sich imposant auf der östlichen Uferseite der Ilm erhebt.

Nach Vorbildern für den Bau des Archivs suchend richtete der von Großherzogin Sophie beauftragte Architekt Otto Minckert seinen Blick zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts nach Versailles. Inspiriert von dem Schlösschen Petit Trianon entstanden seine architektonischen Entwürfe. Doch anders als die Schlösser von Versailles war der Weimarer Bau für die Öffentlichkeit konzipiert.

Das Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv erschließt und erforscht mehr als 150 Nachlässe von Schriftstellern, Gelehrten, Philosophen, Komponisten und bildenden Künstlern, 14 Archive von Verlagen Vereinen und Gesellschaften, insgesamt 5 Mio. Blatt – für Besucher und Benutzer aus aller Welt.

Die Bestände repräsentieren in umfassendem Maße die deutschsprachige Literatur wie auch Musik, bildende Kunst und Wissenschaft – mit dem Schwerpunkt im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Den wohl wertvollsten Bestandteil des Archivs stellen die Manuskripte und Briefe Goethes dar. Sein Nachlass wurde 2001 von der UNESCO in das Weltdokumentenerbe aufgenommen.

Im 21. Jahrhundert geht das Goethe- und Schiller-Archiv digitale Wege – in der Erschließung, in der Reproduktion, in der Edition und Forschung. In Ausstellungen und im Lesesaal setzt das älteste deutsche Literaturarchiv auf die kostbaren Originalhandschriften – Goethe und Schiller, Wieland und Herder, Liszt und Nietzsche, aber auch viele Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die wieder neu zu entdecken sind.

Verwendung der Gebäudefotos nur mit Bildnachweis: © Christian Rothe, Genius Loci Weimar 2020